Google
Greatest Wrestling Stars of the 80s DVD

Sunday, May 13, 2007

WWE RAW results from 4/30 & 5/7 and WWE Smackdown! results from 5/11

Okay, so here are the results from RAW's past two shows and from this last Friday's Smackdown! that was one hell of a exciting show and probably the most surprising show of the year..



RAW - 4/30 results

Location: The Gaylord Entertainment Center in Nashville

- RAW begins with John Cena and Mr. McMahon backstage, McMahon trys to act cool to John Cena, but Cena punks him out - HBK interrupts he says he wants one more shot tonight, Cena accepts, McMahon says he makes the decisions and tells HBK must earn his shot tonight and if he wins he will get a shot at Cena next week.

(1) Edge vs. Randy Orton. Edge slaps Orton to begin the match, Randy and Edge both take it to each other, Edge is knocked off the apron onto the guard rail.

Back in the ring Orton is speared from the apron onto the announce table, J.R. and King both taken out and eventually get their headsets back on.

Edge gets a near fall, KIng's headset is broken and finally gets back on air, Edge continues to work over Orton, Edge goes to the top but Orton manages to stop him, fans are mainly behind Orton, Edge knocks Orton away and goes for a cross body from the top but Orton catches him with a mid-air dropkick.

Orton gains control and hits a back breaker for a close near fall, Edge manages to hit a power move for another near fall, fans chant "Randy" both guys go for a cross body and both crash and burn.

Referee Mike Chioda starts to count them down, they make it to their feet, more near falls, Edge tries to pin Orton with his feet on the ropes but the ref sees, Orton tries the same but is seen, Orton gets busted open the hard way. Edge goes for a spear but Orton leapfrogs and Edge hist the turnbuckle, Edge then reverses a RKO attempt into a spear for the clean win. Great match.

- Video package is shown of Cena vs. HBK from last week, graphic is then shown for Cena-HBK 3 tonight.

- Todd Grisham interviews Santino in a pre-taped segment, they look back at the title change, Santino says if this is a dream he doesnt want to wake up, he says next week is his first title defence, he is excited but nervous.

- The footage of RVD's comments about Vince McMahon becoming champ, from wwe.com is shown. Graphic is then shown for RVD vs. Umaga later.

- Backstage, Vince is talking with Shane, he tells Shane to make sure Umaga destroys RVD, Vince thanks Shane for last night and Shane tells his dad he loves him and gives him a hug, Vince then lets Shane hold the belt.

- Also backstage, Maria interviews Edge, Maria says even though Edge won he doesn't look happy, Edge calls Maria a bimbo and says he isn't happy because HBK has got yet another shot at Cena, he says he is going to have to insert himself into the picture.

(2) World Tag Team Champion Jeff Hardy vs. Johnny Nitro. Lance Cade & Trevor Murdoch are doing commentary - they are strangely giving many positive comments to the Hardys.

Jeff hits the whisper in the wind and a face-first suplex for a near fall, Nitro gets back dropped from the top turnbuckle, Hardy hits the swanton bomb for the victory.

Cade & Murdoch get on the mic and congratulate Hardy, they get in the ring to shake Hardy's hand but he doesn't trust that they won't attack him so he leaves.

- Pictures are shown from the fatal-4-way last night.

- Up next; Umaga vs. Rob Van Dam

- Pictures are shown of the ECW Title match from last night.

- Shane McMahon makes his way to the ring, he introduces Umaga who makes his way to the ring.

(3) Umaga vs. Rob Van Dam.

Back from a break, Umaga launced RVD from the top turnbuckle to the outside, Shane is at ringside, RVD tries to get back into it but Umaga hits a samoan drop, RVD tries to slam Umaga but he is too heavy so RVD collapses with Umaga on top of him.

RVD manages to apply a sleeper, Shane looks concerned, Umaga finally gets RVD off him by sending him to the outside.

RVD then applys the sleeper to Umaga outside, Umaga rams RVD into the steel steps to get him off again, back in the ring Umaga goes for his running power move but RVD moves, RVD works over Umaga with kicks finally knocking him off his feet, RVD hits the rolling thunder for a near fall. RVD hits the frog splash but Umaga grabs RVD's throat and pulls him up for a samoan spike for the win. Vince celebrates with his title on the stage.

Up next; HBK vs. Cena 3

- Backstage, Carlito runs into Ric Flair and he says he is sorry for yelling at him last week and that he has got them a match against the World's Greatest Tag Team, Carlito says if they dont win then he will be out of Flair's hair for good.

(4) Shawn Michaels vs. John Cena - HBK's music plays but he doesn't come out, we are shown backstage HBK layed out unconscious.

- back from the break, Coachman joins the scene of HBK's attack, Cena is also there, Coach blames Cena, Cena grabs Coach and shoves him up to a wall and then walks off, Vince then finds HBK, he says he wants HBK in the ring no matter what shape he's in.

(5) Ric Flair & Carlito vs. World's Greatest Tag Team

Carlito & Shelton have some nice chain wrestling, WGTT keep on top of Carlito, Carlito finally gains control, tags Flair, Flair takes it to Benjamin, Flair woooo's to the crowd and turns around into a left hand from Carlito. Carlito attacks Flair but Flair manages to rake Carlito's eyes, Carlito leaves up the ramp but Flair chases after him and attacks him delivering some punches of his own. Carlito keeps turning his back to Flair and Flair keeps going after Carlito and taking him down, Carlito finally escapes, Flair looks furious.

- Backstage, Coachman and a trainer find Edge also layed out unconscious, ref Mike Chioda comes in, Coach tells Chioda to find Orton.

- Mr. Kennedy makes his way to the ring, he says that he is not to blame for the attacks, he doesnt need to attack anybody because he has the money in the bank breifcase, he says he could of easily walked out of Backlash with a championship but decided not to.

He asked if anyone would like to see him cash in tonight for the WWE Title? the fans cheer but he says its not going to happen, he says he will be upfront and tell everyone where and when he will cash in. He then goes on to announce he will cash in his money in the bank breifcase at WrestleMania 24!!

- Backstage Coachman and Kenny find Randy Orton ALSO layed out unconscious, Coach says he is going to tell McMahon.

- Also backstage, Coach finds Vince and tells him what has happened, Vince says he has figured out who has done it, he tells Coach to make Cena go to the ring and we will find out who it is.

(6) Victoria & Women's Champion Melina Perez vs. Candice Michelle & Mickie James.

Mickie & Candice have early control but Melina& Victoria soon gain control, Candice catches Victoria with a roll up for the win.

- Cena is shown slowly making his way to the ring.

- Clips of Tommy Dreamer, Sandman, RVD & Sabu's video thoughts on Vince's title win from last night are shown.

- Graphic shows Vince will be on ECW tomorrow night.

- We are shown the footage of earlier tonight showing HBK, Edge & Orton laid out.

- WWE Champion John Cena makes his way to the ring, Cena says obviously someone wants his attention, he says the energy of 3 beatdowns could of been saved because he is right here.

After a while, The Great Khali's music hits, he makes his way to the ring and destroys Cena, Cena tries to hit an FU but Khali got out of it, Khali hit Cena with his choke bomb and stands over him holding up the WWE Title. J.R. asks if this is a sign of things to come as RAW goes off the air.

All in all a good show - opening segment was really funny, Carlito turning heel was also a great idea, because Carlito is at his best when he plays a heel role. And Cena vs Khali could be a good and entertaining match, but it shouldn't be the last match of the night. World title match should be the 'real' main event at Judgment Day PPV. I just hope Cena is going to be okay because he has a back injury after that choke bomb he received from Khali. But it could simply be a culmination of all the hits he received during the last two years - ever since becoming a WWE champion for the first time he was really working his a** off.



WWE RAW - 5/7 results

Location : Penn State University

RAW kicks off with Jonathan Coachman in the ring, he introduces the ECW Champion Mr. McMahon. Vince says he not only comes as ECW Champion but as the Chairman of the board, Vince recaps the events of last week when The Great Khali took out Shawn Michaels, Edge, Randy Orton & John Cena. Vince is about to announce Cena vs. Khali for Judgment Day when HBK cuts him off. He says the #1 contenders spot was his until Khali attacked him, he says Vince has never done anything for him but tonight he requests to face The Great Khali, HBK admits that he has lost his mind requesting the match - Vince decides to give HBK what he wants and so later tonight Shawn Michales will face The Great Khali in a No-DQ Match for the #1 Contenders spot for Judgment Day. Vince shifts his attention to the ECW Title, he is interrupted by Bobby Lashley who says that now he wants his match, Vince reminds Lashley that he cant touch Umaga, Shane or Vince himself. He shows video footage of Backlash to try and piss Lashley off. He then shows Lashley the cover for the latest WWE Magazine (same as the proposed Vengeance PPV poster) which shows Lashley, Undertaker & Cena all holding their belts, Vince notes that it is now out of date and super-imposes his face on Lashley's body. Vince then announces at Judgment Day he will defend his title against Lashley, but Vince will have tag partners, Shane & Umaga.

Vince goes on to verbally abuse Lashley trying to get him to hit Vince so that he looses his shot at the title, Lashley is able to stay calm but then after Vince leaves the ring he takes out his aggression on Coach choking him out and delivering a spear.

Lashley then stares down McMahon from the ring.

- Graphic is shown for John Cena vs. Randy Orton later tonight.

- Backstage, Candice Michelle & Mickie James are shown in the lockeroom. Candice is half naked and asks Mickie to button her up. They're making their way to ringside.

(1) Mickie James & Candice Michelle vs. Melina & Victoria. Candice hits a spinning heel kick on Melina to pin the Women's Champion! Candice is defiantly improving in the ring.

(2) WWE IC Champion Santino Marella vs. Chris Masters. Very physical match at first. Marella is looking surprisingly good. Big elbow by Masters in the corner but Masters spears the turnbuckle, roll up by Marella for the pin.

- Graphics are shown for Cena vs. Orton & HBK vs. Khali #1 Contenders.

Money in the Bank winner Mr. Kennedy makes his way to the RAW stage, he plugs his WrestleMania 24 World Championship Match.

- backstage, Maria interviews Randy Orton, he says he requested his match with Cena, he states that tonight his career, his title hopes, and his life get back on track.

(3) Handicap Match - The Highlanders vs. Umaga. Umaga makes extremely short work of Robbie & Rory, delivering Samoan Spikes and a huge top-rope splash on both the Highlanders for a double-pin victory.

- Video hype for "The Condemned"

- The Great Khali is shown walking backstage, #1 Contenders match is up next.

- Backstage, Edge approaches Mr. Kennedy about putting the breifcase up for grabs, Kennedy gets in Edge's face and accepts.

- Graphic is shown for RVD's ECW Title match tomorrow night.

(4) #1 Contenders Match for the WWE Championship at Judgment Day - Shawn Michaels vs. The Great Khali. Michaels attacks Khali, he looks like a child next to Khali. HBK takes down Khali with a chair shot and an elbow drop. HBK goes for Sweet Chin Music, but Khali blocks it and hits a overhead chop. Khali starts to dominate, HBK rakes Khali's eyes, remember its no DQ, Shawn tries to choke Khali out and tries to put him through the announce table but Khali throws him off, Khali then choke bombs HBK through the table. Referee stops the match and awards it to Khali, crappy ending.

- Backstage, Todd Grisham interviews John Cena concerning Great Khali's victory, he says he doesn't like it but he has never backed down from anyone, he tells Orton that he choose the wrong person to try and get his life back.

- Backstage. Cryme Tyme are selling things for Mother's Day, they show a steak they stole from Viscera, medication they stole from Eugene and Ron Simmon's ride, a fat guy then goes into shot wearing a spider man costume, Cryme Tyme attack him and steal his money, stupid segment.

(5) The Hardys vs. World's Greatest Tag Team. - Lance Cade & Trevor Murdoch are on commentary again. Jeff hits a Swanton on Hass and Matt gets the pin for the victory. After the match, Cade & Murdoch get in the ring and again offer a handshake, Hardys reluctantly accept and Cade & Murdoch leave the ring applauding them.

- Video highlights are shown of Carlito turning on Ric Flair last week.

- Carlito is then shown walking towards the entrance way with Torrie Wilson in toe.

Carlito cuts a promo saying that Ric Flair embarrassed him and that it was his fault they lost all of their matches, he calls Flair out even though he knows Flair isn't there tonight. He says he is going to get rid of all the garbage in his life, starting with Torrie, Carlito then starts talking Spanish and backs Torrie up into the corner, Torrie pushes him away and escapes up the ramp. Carlito continues ranting in Spanish and then storms off.

- More "The Condemned" hype.

(6) Money in the Bank - Mr. Kennedy vs. Edge. Edge attacks Kennedy during his enterance, Edge cracks Kennedy with a monitor. Edge puts Kennedy in the ring, ref asks Kennedy if he is sure he wants to compete, Kennedy tells the ref to ring the bell, Kennedy goes for Edge but Edge connects with a spear and pins Kennedy to win Money in the Bank!



(7) Non-Title - Randy Orton vs. WWE Champion John Cena. Cena slaps on a STFU but Orton gets to the ropes. Khali comes down and takes Cena's title belt and walks towards the back with it. Cena chases him but Khali lays him out with the belt and raises the title in the air as RAW ends.


(This RAW has also been extremely good - Edge won the MITB briefcase which surprised me a lot - maybe I wouldn't be so surprised if I knew that Kennedy was injured before this match. That's why you shouldn't read the news/spoilers because wrestling is so much interesting without knowing them! Santino Marella was surprisingly good in his first match with Chris Masters and I am sure he can do even better. Also, I like the fact that Shawn wasn't pinned by Khali - he simply got 'injured' (I'm pretty sure this injury was just an angle) which in my view makes him look stronger. Carlito's first heel promo was decent and I hope for the re-match between Lashley and McMahons/Umaga to be a no DQ match.



Smackdown! - 5/11 results

Location: Pittsburgh, PA


Smackdown opens with a promo on The Undertaker defending the WWE World championship against Batista in a Steel Cage match.

*WWE United States champion Chris Benoit & Matt Hardy defeated MVP & Finlay in a solid bout after Benoit pinned MVP. The heels worked on Hardy's knee for a good portion of the bout and he limped all the way to the back.




*Another Steel Cage Match promo.

*Michelle McCool defeated Jillian Hall with a spinning neckbreaker. Hall "sang a song" before the match started.

*Backstage, Teddy Long told Kristal Marshall to have Vickie Guerrero come to Smackdown next week. Guerrero's name was booed. A new "country looking team" (I believe KC and Cassidy James from OVW) appeared in the vignette and will be wrestling next week.

*They showed highlights of Edge capturing the Money in the Bank from Ken Kennedy on Raw.

*Michael Cole and JBL interviewed Ashley Massaro, who said she can't wait to get back in the ring to take care of Jillian Hall.

*Paul London, with Brian Kendrick defeated WWE Tag Team champion Domino, with Deuce and Cherry. London hit a dropsault on Deuce, knocking him off the apron, and landing on Domino following the flip for the pin.

*Another Steel Cage match promo.

*Kane (with Boogeyman and Little Boogey) defeated Dave Taylor (with William Regal) after a clothesline. Boogey clotheslined Regal right before the finish.



*Another Undertaker vs. Batista video promo.

*They announce Ozzy Osbourne will be performing live on Smackdown! next week.

*Another Undertaker vs. Batista package.

*Snitsky promo, which may have been just for the live Arena.

The Undertaker vs. Batista for the WWE World championship inside a Steel Cage



They announced the match can be won by pinfall, submission or escape. Undertaker got a huge pop while Batista received a mixed reaction. Undertaker's arm is heavily braced and protected. Batista's right knee and quad is also taped up. The first five minutes saw some near falls. The crowd completely turned on Batista as he took control. Batista tried to escape but taker crotched him on the top rope. Taker took control for a moment, then both men hit each other with a clothesline and went down. Batista regained control of the match. Batista nearly scored a pinfall but Taker kicked up and regained control. He nailed a running clothesline in the corner then hit a big boot and a chokeslam for another near fall. Undertaker went for the Last Ride powerbomb but Barista countered and slammed Taker into the cage, busting him open. Batista nailed a spinebuster for a near fall. He tried to climb out of the cage but Undertaker caught him and nailed the Last Ride. Undertaker then tried to escape the cage. Batista began climbing out from another section of the cage, so both were trying to escape simultaneously. Both men hit the floor at the same time and it was announced as draw.



Mark Henry came to ringside and attacked Taker.

Edge came out and cashed in his Money in the Bank title shot and began beating Taker, getting several near falls. Undertaker sat up, but was speared in the sitting position by Edge, who scored the pin. Edge is the new WWE World champion. The crowd went absolutely insane for the title change. After the match, Edge laid out Undertaker with the suitcase and then left holding the belt in one hand and the briefcase in the other.




This was one hell of a Smackdown! show. It was great to see London back, the opening match between Benoit/Matt Hardy vs MVP/Finlay was great, but the main event and the aftermath was awesome. The finish was incredible with both Batista and The Undertaker hitting the floor at the same time. It was excellently worked out. When Mark Henry came out, I thought they were going to make him the new #1 contender for Undertaker's title at Judgment Day, but I was so shocked when Edge came out and cashed in his briefcase and pinned Undertaker - great way for Undertaker to take time off to recover from his injury. And even with Undertaker and Mr. Kennedy out for a very long time (around 6 - 9 months), the World title scene on Smackdown! is looking very good - Edge, Batista, Benoit when he loses the US title, Matt Hardy (you know that writers will continue their feud), and probably even Finlay and Mark Henry + Booker T when he returns.

And tonight, it will be Edge's final night on RAW - and I believe it will be another memorable moment for all the WWE fans. Also, I am getting interested in Cena/Khali feud, just because I want to see if Cena can F-U the Indian giant. Also, Lashley will meet jonathan Coachman in a 1 on 1 match tonight (I just hope this isn't the main event), and I hope that Randy Orton will find his place on the Judgment Day PPV card.




Also, don't miss this Friday's Smackdown! - even if wrestling isn't your biggest interest, you should watch it, because Ozzy Osbourne will perform his song 'I Don't Wanna Stop' which is also the official theme song of Judgment Day PPV.


Okay, that's it from me now, thank you and see you!!!







Tuesday, May 8, 2007

A quick recap of last Tuesday's ECW and a warning for anyone who hasn't seen the 5/8 show


Okay, first I will do my usual recap of last Tuesday's ECW and for everyone who saw this show, simply scroll down to the end of the post and read my 'warning'

The ECW show from May 1st aired live from Birmingham, AL, and it started with Lashley approaching the ring looking very upset.

Lashley said outside of the McMahon family, he was willing to bet that there wasn’t anyone outside of the McMahon family who was happy about this. He said he had a way of making it all better. He said he would give McMahon the beating of a lifetime. Lashley said he wanted a rematch for the title right here and right now.

Armando Alejandro Estrada came out in a neck brace and wheel chair. Oh this is hilarious. Estrada asked Lashley who the hell he thought he was to come out here and demand anything. He said he wouldn’t be ruining this special night. He said because of Lashley, Mr. McMahon got his head shaved bald. Estrada said it was because of him that he was in the wheel chair right now and couldn’t do his job as manager of Umaga. He said Lashley wasn’t going to ruin anything else. He said before Vince got here tonight, he wanted Estrada to deliver a message to him. Estrada said that Lashley would get his title rematch, but it wouldn’t be here tonight. Estrada said unless Lashley was physically provoked, Lashley couldn’t touch the following people: Umaga, Shane McMahon or new ECW Champion Mr. McMahon.

Lashley did a bad job of getting mad before asking Estrada what he said. Lashley wheeled Estrada to the ring and then plowed him into the ring steps. Lashley played to the crowd a bit and then left.

Later tonight, the ECW Originals are going to confront the new ECW World Champion Vince McMahon.

****Commercial****

Elijah Burke was in the back with the New Breed telling all of the guys that they were all set up by the New Breed. Elijah said tonight, they’d all follow his lead.

CM Punk’s music hit and he came out to the ring for his match.

Burke came out to the ramp and said CM Punk used him and the New Breed for his own personal goals. He said tonight, CM Punk would fight Kevin Thorne, who didn’t look too excited about things.

CM Punk v. Kevin Thorn

The two immediately locked up and Punk grabbed a hammerlock. Thorn hit a back elbow but got taken off his feet with a wheel kick. Thorn immediately bullied Punk to the corner and hammered away at him until sling shotting his face off the ropes a few times.

Kevin eventually pounded away at the chest of Punk before grabbing a rear chin lock. Punk fought out and ducked under a clothesline. He went for a cross body block but got caught and was power slammed. Thorn went for a second rope splash, but Punk moved out of the way and began hitting some nasty stiff kicks to Thorn’s face. Punk loaded Thorn up for Go 2 Sleep and nailed it for the victory.

Winner: CM Punk via pin fall

A clip aired of the ECW Originals in despair over Mr. McMahon’s ECW Championship win on Sunday. Tommy Dreamer cried. Awesome.

****Commercial****

The Extreme Expose aired.

Burke was in the back with Striker and Cor Von. Thorn approached them and asked them where they were. Burke told him that no one came back here and questioned him and said he was the only one to blame for his loss. Thorn told him to shut up. He said as far as he and the New Breed were concerned, he quit.

Marcus Cor Von & Matt Striker v. Bryan and Bret Major

Striker traded arm bars with the youngster before missing an Irish whip. Bret tagged in but quickly got caught with a right to the face. He caught Cor Von tagging in and the action soon spilled to the outside.

Cor Von tossed Brett off the ring post a few times before bringing him into the ring and hitting a press slam into a fall away slam for a near fall. Cor Von hit a clothesline before slapping on a rear chin lock. Brett fought back a little bit but Cor Von cut him off and whipped him to the corner. Cor Von missed the follow-up allowing Bryan to tag in.

Bryan met Striker and hit a flapjack and almost got a three count before Cor Von came in and tossed him from the ring. Striker got rolled up and almost took a near fall. Bryan hit a springboard cross body block and scored a huge upset out of nowhere.

Winners: The Major Brothers via pin fall

Burke was utterly shocked. Striker said it was a fast count. Burke called him pathetic and started running up and down Striker saying he was pathetic and the only reason he even still had a job was because of him. Super intense, awesome stuff. Striker looks dejected.

A replay of the RVD-Umaga match aired from last night. The Originals confront Mr. McMahon next!

****Commercial****

ECW World Champion Mr. McMahon’s music hit and he headed out to the ring with a little bit more style in the strut than usual.

McMahon said he had never done things in his life that he regretted but he thought he was going to do something he was going to regret. He said for the first time in his life, he was going to expose himself and said ‘excuse me while I whip this out’ and ripped off his jacket to expose the ECW World Championship belt around his waist and asked the crowd about their feelings.

McMahon said he’d defend against Lashley but only where and when he decided to. He said the Originals had some derogatory things to say about him but said it was easy for them to do so, because it was said behind his back. He said it was more difficult man to man. He wondered whether the Originals had the gumption to look him in the eye and say what they truly feel about him. He invited the Originals out to the ring.

While the ECW music played, McMahon danced to it. Oh my god this is total gold. McMahon’s got the belt on his shoulder now. Oh god, McMahon has found ‘it’ again. The Originals lined up in a line.

McMahon started with RVD. Vince asked him what he thought. RVD said he killed ECW. He said it was a mockery of everything wrestling stood for and they knew what it took to hold that belt. Vince pulled back and said damn right he was that man.

Vince turned to Sabu who had nothing to say.

Vince asked what that smell was coming from Sandman. Sandman held up three fingers and told Vince to ‘read between the lines’ and turned his back on him.

Dreamer said the fans demanded that ECW come back, not him. He said his name may be on the pay check, but each one of these people at home were the ones who really paid the salary and that they knew about the spirit of ECW.

Vince said they all sounded worked up. He said talk was cheap. He asked which one had the guts to take him on one on one. McMahon asked them if they wanted some of this. He told Dreamer to keep on Dreaming. He told Sandman he didn’t wrestle and said Sabu was weird for being so silent. Vince said he’d give a title shot to whomever wanted it the worst and that the winner of this week’s match would get him one on one next week.

McMahon said all four originals would face each other to determine who would get to face him. He said before the bell rang, he said in his own vision, this would be an ECW Extreme Rules match, his style.

****Commercial****

Extreme Rules- Winner Gets Vince one on one next week
The Sandman v. Tommy Dreamer v. Rob Van Dam v. Sabu


Sabu went for a roll up but nothing happened. Sandman looked for a roll up on Sabu but that only got a two count. Everyone started off really gingerly here but the ‘competitive spirit’ started to quickly come into play. Before you knew it, Van Dam was tossing stuff into the ring and hammering Dreamer with a trash can lid.

Van Dam laid out a chair on Dreamer’s body and he hit rolling thunder as Sabu hit a leg drop. Van Dam went after Sabu but got killed with a knee to the face. Sandman hit a clothesline out of the corner but only got a one count. Dreamer hit Sandman with a trash can spot and tossed him to the outside where he went looking for a suplex. Sandman countered and hung him up on the guard rail.

Sabu vaulted off a chair and took RVD out to the outside of the ring while the crowd wow’d in approval. Sandman sent Dreamer up on a Trash Can in the ring and then leg dropped his face through it for a two count. Sandman mounted the ropes looking for something but got nailed in the back with the same garbage can he used earlier.

Dreamer headed to the outside to get McMahon but Vince handed him a chair. Dreamer set up Sandman for the drop kick to the face with the chair and nailed it. Sabu came out of nowhere and hit an Arabian face buster. RVD fooled Sabu into thinking they were going to double team dreamer and back suplexed him onto what was left of the trash can. Van Dam hit the Van Daminator on Sabu before getting hammered with a cane shot from Dreamer.

Sandman interrupted Dreamer’s fun only to get hit but Sabu. Sabu went to the outside and brought a table into the ring and set it up in the middle. Sabu set Sandman up on the table but was cut off by Dreamer who superplexed Sabu off the top rope and through both Sandman and the table.

Rob Van Dam capitalized on the opportunity and hit the five star frog splash for the victory.

Winner: Rob Van Dam via pin fall

McMahon gulped on the outside of the ring before Van Dam got in his face and gave McMahon and “R-V-D”.

And now the warning!

This weeks edition of ECW on Sci-Fi spoils major happenings on this Friday's edition of Smackdown. If you do not want to be spoiled I suggest you do NOT watch ECW and skip ahead when the scrolling news appears at the bottom of the screen. Do NOT go to wwe.com either. I made that mistake, don't repeat it!


Wrestling: TNA iMPACT! from May 3, 2007 and WWE SD! May 4, 2007, more...

In this post I will give a quick recap of last episode of TNA iMPACT! as well as the last episode of WWE Smackdown!


On the TNA iMPACT! show from May 3, 2007 the TNA SACRIFICE WORLD TITLE MATCH WAS SET: CAGE VS. ANGLE VS. STING!

The World Title match for the May 13 “Sacrifice” Pay-Per-View event is set as it will be Christian Cage defending his gold against both Sting and Kurt Angle in a three-way match! On Thursday’s “iMPACT!”, Cage offered up a tag team match with Sting and Angle vs. he and AJ Styles. If Sting and Angle could beat them, he would give them the title shot, but only to the man who scores the winning pinfall. Also, if Cage's theme won, Christian promised his tag team partner AJ Styles that he will get his title shot. However, in a strange turn of events, both Sting and Angle forced Styles to tap out to the ankle lock submission! After the bout, TNA management director Jim Cornette declared that it would be a three-way at the Pay-Per-View for the championship!

Also on “iMPACT!”, as we found out Abyss' now former manager James Mitchell shared his final thoughts about the career of Abyss, saying he made the TNA star and has now destroyed him! According to Mitchell, Abyss is now gone from TNA Wrestling after the brutal attack two weeks ago by the members of Team Cage. During the eulogy, Mitchell stated he “had moved on to bigger things…and that Abyss has already been replaced.” (This seems interesting, I wonder who the 'replacement' is, maybe Big Show?)

Also, during a backstage interview with World Tag Team Champions Team 3D, they announced they would be defending the gold at “Sacrifice” in a three-way match against former champions The Latin American Xchange and the team of Scott Steiner and Tomko! During the broadcast, Team 3D battled Rhino and Samoa Joe, but the bout was thrown out after Christopher Daniels hit the ring and interfered with his now trademark baseball bat. However, ‘The Fallen Angel” paid dearly for his assault as Team 3D, Joe and Rhino all took turns brutalizing Daniels.

To spice it up even more, Robert Roode and Ms. Brooks attempted to fire Eric Young from TNA, but Jim Cornette stepped in to tell Roode that wasn’t going to happen! An enraged Roode put his hands on Cornette and pushed him down, leading to Young hitting the ring to help the TNA management director. Young attempted to nail Roode with Jeff Jarrett’s guitar, but Roode turned it around on Young and bashed his skull in while he was handcuffed to the ropes. Jarrett was unable to help Young as he had been ordered by Cornette not to attend “iMPACT!” after what happened last week. However, after the attack Cornette had a breaking news for Roode – he will face Jarrett at “Sacrifice” on May 13!

And for the first time ever on iMPACT!, to end their ongoing feud, it was Gail Kim getting the win over Jackie Moore on Thursday’s broadcast. During the bout, Gail knocked out two of Jackie’s front teeth with a shot from a kendo stick! After Gail got the win, James Storm hit the ring to help Jackie punish Gail, but “Wildcat” Chris Harris came to her defense! Harris took off his eye patch, revealing he was now fully healed, and went after Storm before their “Texas Death Match” at Sacrifice on May 13. The two former partners briefly brawled before Storm fled the ring. (Now this match is going to be great, and this should've taken place at the previous TNA PPV - Lockdown!)








And this past Friday (May 4, 2007) on Smackdown!, General Manager Theodore Long made an announcement that next Friday World Heavyweight Champion Undertaker and Batista would face off in a Steel Cage Match following the fact that their Last Man Standing match at Backlash ended in a draw. Both The Phenom and The Animal had very strong vocal messages for each other. When these two behemoths collide in Pittsburgh on Friday, Pittsburgh - the Steel City will never be the same – and neither will either competitor.

Following the announcement, a wounded Batista told the World Heavyweight Champion, “at Backlash, we pushed each other to the limit. Then we went past the limit. Nothing is resolved.” He continued, “is the World Heavyweight Championship worth all this destruction? Hell yes.” The Animal then had a promise for Undertaker, saying, “next week, in a 15-foot high cage, I will win back my title.”

The Deadman had a message of his own for his challenger, telling Batista, “I took your soul at Backlash. I took your health.” Undertaker then assured him, “next Friday when you step into the demon’s playground, you will rest in peace.”



Speaking of the World Heavyweight Championship, after announcing on Raw that he would cash in his championship opportunity at WrestleMania 24, Mr. Kennedy was on SmackDown in one-on-one action against Matt Hardy. Mr. Money in the Bank and Hardy are both looking to vault themselves into the upper echelon of SmackDown, and on this night, Hardy was able to get the victory over Kennedy in one of the highlight matches of the year for Friday Night SmackDown.

Despite the loss, Kennedy has 331 days until he claims he will take his opportunity at a world champion at WrestleMania 24, but Mr. Money in the Bank could always cash it in at any time.

And MVP, who came up just a little bit short of winning the US title at Backlash, went up against Kane in a No. 1 Contenders Match for the right to face United States Champion Chris Benoit.





The Big Red Monster was in full control and looked to become the man to face the Rabid Wolverine, but William Regal & Dave Taylor interfered. Regal & Taylor earlier in the night attacked Boogeyman & Little Boogeyman, but Kane made his way out, chasing off the dangerous duo of Regal & Taylor. The two would get their revenge when they cost Kane the match against MVP, as Regal nailed Kane with brass knuckles. MVP delivered his finishing maneuver the Playmaker for the victory and earned yet another opportunity at U.S. gold.









A former champion looking to regain his gold is Brian Kendrick. He took on one-half of the WWE Tag Team Champions, Domino. Kendrick is still waiting for his partner Paul London to regain full health so the two can pursue the tag titles again, while Deuce & Domino are looking to “crack em’ in da mouth” before they have the chance. Last week, Kendrick lost to Domino’s partner, Deuce, and this week, the young high-flyer gutted out the victory.

Anticipating the need for some time off to spend with his girl Kristal, General Manager Theodore Long has begun the interview process for his assistant. On SmackDown, “American Dream” Dusty Rhodes, Sgt. Slaughter, Brooklyn Brawler, and even Miz were lined up in hopes of landing the job.

Another video featuring Mark Henry aired, and The World’s Strongest Man has vowed to continue the path of destruction he was on before his injury. Henry then told our fans and all of SmackDown, “there is nothing you can do about it.”

The Miz took on Finlay, but became increasingly frustrated when Hornswoggle intervened on numerous occasions. Hornswoggle poked Miz in the eyes, teed off with the shillelagh, and then pulled Miz under the ring, much to the delight of Finlay.





Miz escaped from under the ring and left the arena in frustration, losing the match to the Irishman by count-out. Also, Jimmy Wang Yang defeated Gregory Helms in singles action. (This was one hell of a great Smackdown! and it really got me pumped for next week. And World championship match is very unpredictable due to the fact that The Undertaker got injured pretty seriously)


And here are some very important news from the world of professional wrestling.


TNA severs ties with ROH & other Indy promotions

On the heels of ROH announcing their PPV/VOD deal, TNA Wrestling has made the call to pull all talents from future ROH shows. The reason is that TNA talents under contract cannot appear on "competing PPV" or other DVD distributed through a national chain. This had not been a problem until yesterday's announcement from ROH. TNA made the call today and stated that they know ROH fans will be upset, but felt they had no choice after learning about ROH's PPV expansion yesterday via the Internet. Christopher Daniels recently finished up with the promotion and over the last months ROH had been phasing out the use of TNA talent in major storylines.

The PWG people sent out the following release today: Los Angeles, CA - Generally, the Pro Wrestling Guerrilla news releases have been light-hearted yet informative, however that will not be the case on this occasion. Since our humble beginnings in July 2003, Pro Wrestling Guerrilla has booked employees of TNA Wrestling to appear on our shows, in what can only be considered a successful relationship for all parties involved. Both companies experienced tremendous growth during this time period, admittedly with Pro Wrestling Guerrilla aided infinitely more so by TNA Wrestling than the other way around, and the relationship between the two companies has been affable. On April 24, 2007, TNA Wrestling presented Pro Wrestling Guerrilla with a contract that would prevent TNA Wrestling employees from appearing on DVDs sold through or distributed by any third parties. Because this would include long-time partner Highspots.com, as of May 3, 2007, Pro Wrestling Guerrilla has severed all ties with TNA Wrestling. Since February 2004, Highspots.com has been a major contributor to the success of Pro Wrestling Guerrilla, by helping us to increase the popularity of our company through Highspots.com production and distribution of our DVDs. Since TNA Wrestling presented us with the contract on April 24, we have considered every possible solution, from opting out of our contract with Highspots.com, self distribution of events featuring TNA Wrestling employees (both of which, to their credit, Highspots.com was agreeable with), to releasing DVDs without the matches of TNA Wrestling employees through Highspots.com. Each solution, except one, was either financially irresponsible, meant higher costs for the fans, or would greatly compromise the quality of Pro Wrestling Guerrilla as a whole. Therefore, we have been forced to end our business relationship indefinitely. Because of this situation, TNA Wrestling employees Chris Sabin and Alex Shelley will not be appearing at Pro Wrestling Guerrilla's DDT4 Tag Team Title Tournament on May 19 & 20. We at Pro Wrestling Guerrilla would like to apologize to Alex Shelley and Chris Sabin, who along with Frankie Kazarian, were not simply employees, but part of the Pro Wrestling Guerrilla family. We would also like to apologize to Samoa Joe, Low Ki, AJ Styles, and Christopher Daniels, whom we had booked for upcoming Pro Wrestling Guerrilla events. We would also like to thank Homicide, Austin Aries, Petey Williams, and all those previously mentioned for their hard work and professionalism as Pro Wrestling Guerrilla wrestlers. And most importantly, we would like to apologize to our fans, who have come to enjoy seeing TNA employees both at our live events and on our DVDs. Your appreciation and support gave the TNA employees a chance to wrestle at a level they often time are unable to. We hope you can understand that this was not an easy decision to make, but we did what we feel was best for Pro Wrestling Guerrilla now, and in the future.


Reports say that Mr. Kennedy suffers tricep injury

Wrestling Observer reported that
Mr. Kennedy suffered a serious tricep tear over the weekend during a WWE House Show event in Poughkeepsie, New York, reportedly tearing it right off the bone. This is why WWE shot the angle on Monday Night Raw with Kennedy putting up his "Money in the Bank" briefcase and losing it against Edge.

According to Wrestling Observer, Kennedy is expected to undergo surgery shortly and is expected to be out of the ring around five to seven months. We will continue to follow this story as it develops.
(Bad news for Smackdown!, he has also been injured in 2005 and out for around 6 months, I just hope it doesn't mean he is extremely injury prone, because health is important to reach the greatest heights in professional wrestling)



Undertaker's injury and its severity


It has been reported that Undertaker was injured at Backlash and very severely. It's rumored that he will be out for 6 months, and that Batista will win this Friday Night on Smackdown!. (I don't believe that Batista will win the title, but we could get the winner out of nowhere - maybe Edge will cash in his newly won MITB briefcase. Yet, I still hope that Undertaker will be able to wrestle and keep his title).




Okay, that's it for now, I will be back with more news as soon as I get them and with my RAW reports. Thank you and see you.

Sunday, May 6, 2007

WWE Backlash 2007 PPV review; TNA Impact! from April 19, 2007 and April 26, 2007



So after over a week removed from Backlash PPV, Mysterious A has finally decided to write his review of this extraordinary PPV.
It was a great choice by the WWE to have wrestlers from all three brands (SD!, RAW, ECW) compete on the PPV.
Okay, on with the review.

WWE Backlash 2007 took place in Philips Arena in Atlanta, Georgia.
Attendance: 13 200

The card looked decent to me, especially because all six matches were contested for some championship belt, and in the end not one match disappointed.

Match #1: Hardy Boyz (c) vs Lance Cade and Trevor Murdoch (WWE World Tag Team Championship)



This was a very good opener. Cade and Murdoch play good heels and the WWE Hall of Famer Dusty Rhodes was right when he said that they reminded him of the team of late Dick Murdoch and Dusty himself (who competed in the NWA in the late 70s/early 80s).
Cade and Murcoh took early control of the match. Basically, they did everything they could to take the titles - whether it was legal or illegal it didn't matter to them, but after all - they're playing heels. And damn good heels if you ask me.



Finally, after a lot of struggle Jeff Hardy managed to reach his corner and tag in his brother Matt, who looked great in this match. He hit a Side Effect on Murdoch, but that wasn't enough because Lance Cade came off the top rope and hit a Double Ax Handle on Matt Hardy. Trevor Murdoch then hit his move Code Red (which I mentioned before looks like Petey Williams' (TNA) Canadian Destroyer, only much worse), but Matt kicked out right before two. Murdoch then picked Matt up into the Fireman's Carry, but Matt countered with the Twist of Fate, but right before Matt could get the winning pin, Lance Cade pulled him to the outside and they engaged into a fist fight. Jeff Hardy used this to hit his Swanton Bomb on Murdoch and Matt one the fist exchange on the outside and got back into the ring to get the winning cover.



Match rating - *** - nothing fancy, maybe I should've given this match a half of star less, but I feel it was one good opener that got the crowd pumped for the remainder of the show. And what a show it was!

Then in the back, we see Umaga, Shane McMahon and Vince McMahon get prepared for their match against Bobby Lashley for the ECW Championship. The segment ends when it's decided that when they win Vince McMahon will become the new ECW World Champion.


Match #2: Melina Perez (c) vs Mickie James (WWE Women's Championship)



This match was the proof that Women's division in the WWE has the future even though many people doubted that after the departure of Amy Dumas and Trish Stratus. These girls surprised me when early in the match we got to see a great exchange of wrestling holds. Also some moves shown by Melina were incredible. At the end, I really thought that Mickie James got severely injured when Melina basically set right on her neck when she jumped from the top rope. In the end at the 8 minute mark, Mickie fell victim to a reverse DDT. Melina retained her championship.



Rating - *** - again, maybe I did over exaggerate, but these two ladies showed that there is some true talent in the Women's locker room. If Candice Michelle could improve just a little more and if WWE could sign somebody like Mercedes Martinez or Sara Del Ray, then we could have one hell of a Women's Division in WWE.

Match #3: Chris Benoit (c) vs MVP (WWE United States Championship)




Just like in their match at Wrestlemania 23, MVP managed to stay toe to toe with Chris Benoit wrestling wise. There were so many great moments in this match. Such as the move reversal sequence at the beginning of the match. Also, Benoit hit a series of rolling German Suplexes (5 if I'm not mistaken). MVP locked in a Reverse Stepover Armbar (and used ropes for leverage), but the ref caught him cheating.


After another great series of German Suplexes, Benoit went for the cover, but MVP blocked, so Benoit reversed it into the small package and got the pin.



Rating - ***1/4 - this time I didn't exaggerate one bit. This was a great WRESTLING match and the finish surprised me because I really thought that Backlash was MVP's time to shine. But the storyline will continue and that's what makes me happy. I just hope that when Benoit loses his US belt, WWE give him one more World title reign - the guy deserves it more than anyone right now.

In the back, Orton and Cena had a very funny conversation when Cena started to make fun of Orton stating that Randy was hitting on him (although he was just offering to team up with Cena and take out Edge and Shawn Michaels in their Fatal Fourway match). This was concluded with Ron Simmons' DAMN!'
Good stuff.

Match #4: Lashley (c) vs Vince McMahon, Shane McMahon and Umaga (ECW World Championship)



The start of the match was all Lashley. First Shane tried to take Lashley down, but to no avail as Lashley was throwing him around like a rag doll. Then Umaga tagged in, but he was served the same menu. After the opening domination by Lashley, Shane used the chance and pulled down the ropes, sending Lashley down to the floor. Shane then took control of the match and impressed me with his mat wrestling skills. When Lashley powered out of this, Umaga was sent in to take Lashley down again and he did the job well. When Shane McMahon recovered, he got back in and continued to work on Lashley's arm and back.



However, he got too cocky and Lashley got back up and cleaned house.



Just as it seemed that Lashley was going to win, for the first time in the match Vince McMahon got in and broke the cover. Lashley then turned his attention to Vince and he tried to powerslam him, but the move was stopped by Umaga. While the ref was getting Vince out of the ring, Shane used the opportunity and whacked Lashley with the ECW championship belt. Vince then tagged in but only got the 2 count. Vince tagged Umaga in. Umaga hit the top rope splash. Vince covered - still a 2 count. Umaga hit the splash once again. Vince covered - 1...2....3!!! We have a new ECW World Champion! And the oldest ECW Champion in history.



Celebration in the end was extremely funny.
And a lot of people are saying that this was the worst choice ever. But I just don't agree. If you take a look back to 1999 all the way to his last match at Unforgiven 2006, the conclusion is that Vince McMahon entertained us in every single match. And in every match he was hardcore, he took hundreds of sick bumps, and I even stopped counting the chair shots. In every match, Vince McMahon was extreme! So there is really no reason for all this negativity.
And he'll probably provide us with more entertaining matches than current Tommy Dreamer and Sandman could.

Match rating: **3/4 - good action, Shane McMahon was the most impressive in this match. And Lashley played the numbers game very well , as he tried to mount a comeback on numerous times, but never managed beat the odds.

Match #5: The Undertaker (c) vs Batista (Last Man Standing) (World Heavyweight Championship)

If there was a decisive winner in this match, it would definitely be a Match of The Year Candidate, this way, it might be overlooked. Words aren't good enough to describe this match. So many great spots. Leg drop through the announce table, a series of spinebusters by Batista. Tombstones, Batista Bombs, Chokeslams etc. It was all great, but the finish was incredible.
This match itself is the only reason to get this PPV or buy a DVD when it comes out. Also, Batista played a great 'silent' heel role in this match. (Kind of like John Cena in his match with Rob Van Dam at ECW One Night Stand 2006)



Match rating - **** - outstanding, these two guys work great together. After Wrestlemania they delivered once again, and this match will be talked about for a long time.

Match #6: John Cena (c) vs Shawn Michaels vs Edge vs Randy Orton (WWE Championship)



After the previous match, the crowd was a bit too quiet for this match, but nevertheless it was a very entertaining match. Shawn Michaels and John Cena were the biggest favorites for this match and it certainly looked that way because Edge and Orton just played side roles in this match.





It was very exciting when John Cena was locking the STFU on every wrestler who stepped into the ring, but one by one, Edge, Orton and Shawn Michaels managed to get to the ropes. The finish saw the exchange of finishing moves. First Edge hit a Spear on Orton, then Cena hit an F-U on Edge, and when he turned around, Cena was greeted with a Sweet Chin Music from Shawn Michaels. However, while Shawn thought that him winning the match was just a formality, referee saw that Cena fell on top of Orton and he counted the winning pinfall. John Cena retained the WWE Championship.






Match rating - ***3/4 - Just a bit less entertaining then the previous match, but still very good. Also, Shawn looked really upset at the end of the match, so I presume that their feud will continue. My prediction is that in the end Shawn will win the title and Cena will turn heel.
But my predictions suck, so don't count on it.



And now I will look back at the TNA Impact results from April 19, 2007 and April 26, 2007, and I will have the results of May 3, 2007 tomorrow night.




On April 19, 2007 TNA iMPACT! broadcast, Mike Tenay interviewed Jeff Jarrett regarding his return to TNA Wrestling. The former World Champion spoke out about his time away from the spotlight, including coming to realization that it was time for him to give back to the sport. Jarrett talked about three steps to accomplish that – the first was last Thursday when he returned to join Team Angle. The second step was at Lockdown when he helped Sting. According to Jarrett, Step 3 will surprise a lot of people and will be something he needs to “make right”.
During Jarrett’s interview, Olympic gold medalist Kurt Angle hit the ring and certainly wasn’t pleased with what he heard. (I guess that makes him a heel - yes, finally I got some right). According to Angle, he was the one who brought Jarrett back to TNA and he felt he was the one who deserved the shot at the gold, not Sting. In turn, Sting came out and got in Angle’s face regarding the comments, claiming if it wasn’t for men like he and Jarrett paving the way in the sport, Angle would be a “Gold Medal Gym Teacher”. Sting said there was only one way to settle this – and that was to battle for the first time ever next Thursday night on April 26, 2007 to determine who gets the World Title shot at May’s TNA PPV Sacrifice!
Also on that same Thursday night, Christian Cage and Abyss challenged Team 3D for the World Tag Team Title, which Brother Ray and Devon won on Sunday night at Lockdown against The LAX. It was ultimately Team 3D earning the win and retaining their gold when they beat Abyss, causing Christian Cage to get in the monster’s face. However, Abyss fired back by assaulting Cage and even his manager James Mitchell! During the melee, the rest of Christian Cage’s army hit the ring and took turns bloodying and brutalizing Abyss with steel chairs and a barbed-wire baseball bat! Abyss was left a bloody mess in the middle of the ring as “iMPACT!” went off the air!
(I hope that Abyss will return as a huge destructive monster - like Kane was when he debuted in the WWE in 1997).


On April 26, 2007 TNA iMPACT! broadcast
it was Sting vs. Kurt Angle for the World Title shot against Christian Cage at “Sacrifice”, but the bout ended without a clear-cut winner as Cage and his army hit the ring and assaulted both Sting and Angle! Later in the broadcast, Don West (via TNA management director Jim Cornette) informed Cage he would have to defend the gold that night against Sting in the main event! During the bout, Sting was close to claiming the gold, but Kurt Angle came out – still hurt and in a neck brace – to seek revenge on Cage. Angle cost Sting the bout by DQ and his shot at the World Title, which enraged the wrestling icon. As “iMPACT!” went off the air, Sting hit Angle with his bat out of anger! Also, after weeks of guessing who Eric Young's friend is, it turned out to be non other then Jeff Jarrett who keeps on shocking the world week after week. Jarrett helped Eric by chasing off Robert Roode and hitting Ms. Brooks with his patented Guitar Shot. (I really didn't expect the friend to be Jarrett - my pick was Ron Killings, but this is still very good. And Eric Young could be the guy that gets the biggest pop of all the other midcarders) Bad news for this show are that there was no Rhino nor Samoa Joe on this show, but they are announced to compete at next weeks iMPACT! for the tag team gold against Team 3D.



Okay, this is it for now. I will be back soon with more results from RAW, Smackdown!, ECW and iMPACT!

Thank you and see you.